MTN strengthens its leadership in the Cameroon market


With nearly 8 million subscribers, representing 47.20% market share and a turnover of FCFA 212 billion, MTN Cameroon ended 2018 on a positive note, with strong growth in the fourth quarter of the year.

MTN Group, Africa’s leading telecommunications company with operations in 21 countries around the world, including Cameroon, published its consolidated financial results for 2018 on Thursday, 07 March 2019 in Johannesburg, South Africa. The results were driven notably by strong growth in the number of subscribers, which stood at 233 million at 31 December 2018 in the 21 countries, compared with 217 million in 2017.

Encouraging commercial performance

In Cameroon, after a particularly difficult 2017, MTN began to improve its performance curve in 2018. If the turnover impacted by the crisis in the North-West and South-West regions is consolidated at FCFA 212 billion, MTN Cameroon achieved a very encouraging commercial performance in 2018.

Notably, the company recorded 11.7% growth in its subscriber base, which stood at about 8 million subscribers at 31 December 2018. MTN Cameroon also achieved a sustained performance on new revenue streams, including a strong increase in Data revenue and an exceptional 170.2% growth in Mobile Money revenue, with the number of subscribers consolidated at close to 5 million at 31 December 2018.

Reinforced leadership

With nearly 8 million subscribers, representing 47.20% market share and a turnover of FCFA 212 billion, MTN is strengthening its leadership in the telecommunications market in Cameroon. The company looks to the future with optimism, driven by the exceptional performance recorded at the end of the year.

Indeed, in the fourth quarter of 2018 alone, MTN Cameroon was able to recruit approximately 800,000 new subscribers and recorded a close to 2% increase in turnover over the same period, being its best quarterly performance in the last four years.

Commenting on the company’s results for 2018, the Chief Executive Officer, Hendrik Kasteel said, “MTN Cameroon is back. Bold steps were taken last year to get our company back on the growth path. These measures are beginning to yield positive results. We have also begun to reap the first benefits of MTN’s investments of roughly FCFA 300 billion over the past four years to better serve our customers and provide them with the fastest network in the country, a network that meets their needs.”

MTN renforce son leadership sur le marché camerounais | MTN Cameroon

MTN renforce son leadership sur le marché camerounais


Avec près de 8 millions d’abonnés, soit 47,20% de parts de marché et un chiffre d’affaires de 212 milliards FCFA, MTN Cameroon a achevé l’année 2018 sur une note positive marquée notamment par une forte croissance au 4e trimestre de l’année.

Le Groupe MTN, leader africain des télécommunications présent dans 21 pays à travers le monde, dont le Cameroun, a publié jeudi 07 mars 2019 à Johannesburg en Afrique du Sud, ses résultats financiers consolidés pour l’année 2018. Résultats notamment marqués par une forte croissance du nombre d’abonnés qui se situait au 31 décembre 2018 à 233 millions dans les 21 pays, contre 217 millions en 2017.

Performances commerciales encourageantes

Au Cameroun, après une année 2017 particulièrement difficile, MTN amorce le redressement de sa courbe de performance en 2018. Si le chiffre d’affaires impacté par la crise dans les régions du Nord-Ouest et du Sud-Ouest se consolide à 212 milliards FCFA, MTN Cameroon réalise des performances commerciales très encourageantes en 2018.

L’entreprise enregistre une croissance de 11,7% de son parc d’abonnés qui se situait à près de 8 millions d’abonnés au 31 décembre 2018. MTN Cameroon réalise également une performance soutenue sur les nouvelles sources de revenu, dont une forte progression du revenu généré par la Data et une croissance exceptionnelle de 170,2% du revenu généré par le Mobile Money dont le nombre d’abonnés se consolide à près de 5 millions au 31 décembre 2018.

Leadership renforcé

Avec près de 8 millions d’abonnés, soit 47,20% de parts de marché et un chiffre d’affaires de 212 milliards FCFA, MTN renforce son leadership sur le marché des télécommunications au Cameroun. L’entreprise envisage l’avenir avec optimisme, portée par les performances exceptionnelles enregistrées en fin d’année.

En effet, MTN Cameroon a pu recruter près de 800.000 nouveaux abonnés au quatrième trimestre 2018, et a enregistré une croissance de près de 2% de son chiffre d’affaires sur la même période ; soit sa meilleure performance trimestrielle au cours des quatre dernières années.

Commentant les résultats de l’entreprise pour l’année 2018, le Directeur Général Hendrik Kasteel estime que « MTN Cameroon est de retour. Des mesures courageuses ont été prises l’année dernière pour remettre notre entreprise sur le chemin de la croissance. Ces mesures commencent à produire des résultats positifs. Nous avons également commencé à récolter les premiers fruits des investissements de près de 300 milliards FCFA réalisés par MTN au cours des quatre dernières années pour mieux servir nos clients et mettre à leur disposition le meilleur réseau du pays ; un réseau certifié par l’Agence internationale Ookla comme étant le réseau Internet mobile le plus rapide du Cameroun ».