MTN Cameroon employees commit to youth empowerment through the annual volunteerism program “21 Days of #YelloCare”


MTN Cameroon, leader of the electronic communications sector in Cameroon announces the launch of the 13th edition of the annual 21 Days of Y’ello Care program which will run from 1-21 June. This year, the Y’ello Care campaign will once again focus on Youth Empowerment under the theme “Creating a Brighter Future for our Youth”. For 21 days, MTN employees in all 21 operations of the Group will give back to their communities by implementing impactful social projects in their localities.

 

Here in Cameroon, MTN staff have chosen to realize several projects Nationwide that will benefit the youths, particularly those with disabilities, and address the problem of drug abuse which is today a national priority area by Government.

 

The first project which seeks to empower persons with disabilities will result in the construction of a modern multidisciplinary skills enhancement training center for trades based on Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) at Essengue, Douala for vulnerable youths in support of the association “Donnons-nous la main”. This facility will be used for the training of handicapped persons on various jobs such as Office automation, Infographics, Video development, Community management etc. to enable them to be gainfully employed and fend for themselves with dignity. Several other associations working with people with disabilities will be supported by MTNers Nationwide such as:

  • ISDA, a specialized Institute for the hard of hearing, Garoua, North region
  • “L’Excellence de Sabongari” training centre, Ngaoundere, Adamawa region
  • Ferme Ecole de Kaigama, Bertoua, East region
  • Blessing Associates for Women and Children, Kumba, South-West region
  • MOHCAM Mother of Hope Cameroon, Bamenda, North-West region
  • Maison St Damien Et Camille De Bafoussam, Bafoussam, West region
  • Centre Adaima Kalkal, Maroua, Far North region
  • Centre social Bobine d’Or, Yaounde, Centre region

 

The 2019 program will climax on 20 June, which has been dubbed “MTN Day” with a conference to raise national awareness on the ills of drug abuse by the youths. This event will also include the organization of a hackathon, an application development challenge, which will enable young developers representing several Universities and institutions of higher learning to showcase their creative ingenuity in the domain of digital innovation at the service of our youths.

 

Commenting on the Y’ello Care program, MTN Cameroon CEO, Hendrik Kasteel, states that: “As a future-focused organization, MTN instituted the 21 Days of Y’ello Care program as far back as 2007 to provide employees with a platform to make a sustainable difference in the lives of members of our communities on an annual basis above and beyond the activities of our Foundation and the work we do daily to provide simple, accessible and affordable solutions to millions of people and businesses. Since we believe at MTN that everyone deserves the benefits of a modern connected life, the 21 Days program has become a revered rendez-vous; giving back is part of our DNA! We’re passionate about our 2019 projects and truly hope that they’ll add value to the lives of the beneficiaries. In addition, by focusing on the ills of drug abuse which is plaguing our society, we want to support Government’s laudable actions in this domain and further enlighten the youths, tomorrow’s leaders, on the negative effect of this vice, not only to themselves, but their family, communities and the Nation”.

 

The dedication of employees to sustainably change lives with the heart has resulted in the recognition of MTN Cameroon as the best Y’ello Care operation within the MTN Group. Thanks to the quality of the projects implemented by MTN Cameroon staff, the operation won the Group President and CEO overall Y’ello Care award and cash prize of USD100.000 in 2012, 2013 and 2015. The company also won the West and Central Africa President award and USD30.000 cash prize in 2016 and 2017. All of this money is reinvested by MTN Cameroon employees in social projects within their communities.

 

Key achievements since 2012 by MTN Cameroon employees include the:

  • Building of 06 primary schools with a total of 22 classrooms
  • Construction and equipment of a science laboratory in Government High School Bobongo, Douala (2017)
  • Construction of a guest home for teachers in Government High School, Manoka, Littoral (2014)
  • Equipment of 07 libraries in municipalities across the country
  • Payment of school fees (entire primary cycle) of 2100 young girls in the Far North (2013)
  • Donation of telecommunications equipment to universities (2018)

 

Come 1 June, MTN employees will be able to care with the heart and spread a lot of Y’ello love.

Les employés de MTN Cameroon s’engagent pour l’autonomisation des jeunes à travers le programme annuel de volontariat « 21 Days of #YelloCare » | MTN Cameroon

Les employés de MTN Cameroon s’engagent pour l’autonomisation des jeunes à travers le programme annuel de volontariat « 21 Days of #YelloCare »


MTN Cameroon, leader du secteur des communications électroniques au Cameroun annonce le lancement de la 13ème édition du programme annuel 21 Days of Y’ello Care qui se déroule du 1er au 21 juin. Cette année une fois de plus, la campagne Y’ello Care se focalise sur l’autonomisation des jeunes sous le thème « créer un avenir meilleur pour nos jeunes ». Pendant 21 jours, les employés de MTN dans les 21 filiales de MTN Group vont redonner à leurs communautés en déployant des projets sociaux à fort impact.

 

Au Cameroun, le personnel de MTN a choisi de réaliser plusieurs projets à l’échelle nationale qui bénéficieront aux jeunes, en particulier aux jeunes handicapés, et de s’attaquer au problème de l’abus des drogues qui est aujourd’hui une préoccupation majeure pour le Gouvernement.

 

Le premier projet qui vise à autonomiser les personnes handicapées consiste à construire un centre de formation pluridisciplinaire moderne pour les métiers des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) au quartier Essengue à Douala. C’est une action en soutien l’association « Donnons-nous la main ». Cette installation sera utilisée pour la formation des personnes handicapées dans divers domaines tels que la bureautique, l’infographie, le développement vidéo, la gestion communautaire, etc. afin de leur permettre de trouver un emploi rémunérateur et de se débrouiller dignement. Plusieurs autres associations travaillant avec des personnes handicapées seront soutenues par MTNers sur l’étendue nationale. Il s’agit de :

  • ISDA, institut spécialisé pour les malentendants à Garoua, Région du Nord
  • Centre de formation « L’Excellence de Sabongari », Ngaoundéré, Région de l’Adamaoua
  • Ferme Ecole de Kaigama, Bertoua, Région de l’Est
  • Blessing Associates for Women and Children, Kumba, Région du Sud-Ouest
  • MOHCAM Mother of Hope Cameroon, Bamenda, Region du Nord-Ouest
  • Maison St Damien et Camille de Bafoussam, Région de l’Ouest
  • Centre Adaima Kalkal, Maroua, Région de l’Extrême-Nord
  • Centre social Bobine d’Or, Yaoundé, Région du Centre

 

Le programme 2019 culminera ce 20 juin, lors de la journée baptisée « MTN Day », avec une conférence de sensibilisation nationale sur la consommation des drogues chez les jeunes. Cet événement comprendra également l’organisation d’un hackathon, compétition de développement d’applications, qui permettra aux jeunes développeurs représentant plusieurs universités et institutions d’enseignement supérieur de démontrer leur ingéniosité créative dans le domaine de l’innovation numérique au service de nos jeunes.

 

«  MTN Group a mis sur pied le programme 21 Days of Y’ello Care dès 2007 afin d’offrir chaque année aux employés, une plateforme pour faire une différence durable dans la vie de nos communautés, et ce, au-delà des activités de notre Fondation et de notre travail au quotidien qui consiste à fournir des solutions simples, accessibles et abordables à des millions de personnes et aux entreprises. Puisque nous croyons chez MTN que tout le monde mérite les avantages d’une vie moderne connectée, le programme de 21 Days of Y’ello Care est devenu un rendez-vous sacré ; redonner à nos communautés fait partie de notre ADN ! Nous sommes passionnés par nos projets pour 2019 et nous espérons vraiment qu’ils apporteront une valeur ajoutée à la vie des bénéficiaires. En outre, en nous focalisant sur les maux de l’abus des drogues qui affligent notre société, nous voulons soutenir les actions louables du Gouvernement dans ce domaine et éclairer davantage les jeunes, dirigeants de demain, sur les effets négatifs de ce vice, non seulement sur eux-mêmes, mais aussi sur leur famille, leurs communautés et la nation », a expliqué Hendrik Kasteel.

 

Le dévouement des employés à changer durablement des vies et a permis à MTN Cameroon d’être plusieurs fois reconnue comme la meilleure opération Y’ello Care au sein du Groupe. Grâce à la qualité des projets mis en œuvre par le personnel au Cameroun, l’entreprise a remporté le Y’ello Care Group President and CEO Award et une cagnotte de 100.000 USD en 2012, 2013 et 2015. L’entreprise a également gagné le West and Central Africa President Award et a décroché une cagnotte de 30 000 USD en 2016 et 2017. Tout cet argent est réinvesti par les employés de MTN Cameroon dans des projets sociaux au sein de leurs communautés.

 

Parmi les principales réalisations des employés de MTN Cameroon depuis 2017, on peut citer :

La construction de 06 écoles primaires avec un total de 22 salles de classe

La construction et l’équipement d’un laboratoire scientifique au Lycée de Bobongo, Douala (2017)

La construction d’une case de passage pour les enseignants du Lycée de Manoka, Littoral (2014)

L’équipement de 07 bibliothèques dans les municipalités à travers le pays

Le paiement des frais de scolarité (tout le cycle primaire) de 2100 jeunes filles dans le Grand Nord (2013)

Le don d’équipements de télécommunications aux universités (2018)