MTN Foundation improves the impact of its support to the education of the underprivileged children in Cameroon


Tradition respected. This year once more, MTN Foundation supports the back-to-school of underprivileged children in the ten regions of Cameroon. The #Back2skoul caravan was in motion on 5 September 2018. First stopover: the “Nouvelle Destinée” orphanage of the Lendi neighbourhood in Douala.

On this occasion, Friends of the MTN Foundation handed school kits to the inmates of this institution. These school stationery included bags, exercise books and pens. This donation also comprises scholarships for the best students of the orphanage, a mini library equipped with curriculum books and protection equipment such as umbrellas and overcoats.

Ten other orphanages and social care centres shall host this caravan in the next few days and receive the same kits for their inmates. This will totalize eleven institutions which MTN Foundation supports within the framework of its programme on access by all to quality education this year. To improve the impact of this initiative, MTN Foundation has revised its approach by reducing the number of beneficiaries and increasing the envelope allocated to support each child.

This new approach has enabled to care for 3,048 children during the last academic year with a global success rate of over 70%. The excellent results of three of these social care structures are to be noted: “Orphelinat Manodacha” in the West region, “Centre d’Accueil des Enfants en Detresse de Marie Claude Nlate” in the South region and Garden for Education and Healing Orphanage in the North-West region scored a success rate of 100%, 96% and 92% respectively.

Results which comfort MTN Foundation in this excellence-oriented approach. And to even do better, Friends of the MTN Foundation will be more involved in the daily activities of these children through free-will donations and the provision of extra classes to these young learners.

As a reminder, since the launch in 2014 of the #Back2Skoul caravan, MTN Foundation has already supported over 15,000 vulnerable children throughout the 10 regions of the country. Handling the primary school enrolment of 2,100 children in the Logone & Chari Division in the Far North region since 2012 is a good example of this approach oriented towards quality education and excellent results.

La Fondation MTN améliore l’impact de son soutien à l’éducation des enfants défavorisés au Cameroun | MTN Cameroon

La Fondation MTN améliore l’impact de son soutien à l’éducation des enfants défavorisés au Cameroun


Tradition respectée. Cette année encore, la Fondation MTN soutient les rentrées scolaires des enfants défavorisés dans les dix régions du Cameroun. La caravane #Back2skoul s’est ébranlée ce 5 septembre 2018. Premier arrêt, l’orphelinat Nouvelle Destinée au quartier Lendi à Douala.

A cette occasion, les Amis de la Fondation MTN ont procédé à la remise de fournitures scolaires aux pensionnaires de cette institution. Il s’agit des sacs de classe, cahiers et stylos. Ce don compte également des bourses scolaires pour les meilleurs élèves de l’orphelinat, une mini bibliothèque équipée des manuels au programme et les équipements de protections tels que parapluies et manteaux.

Dix autres orphelinats et centres d’accueil vont accueillir cette caravane dans les prochains jours et recevoir le même kit pour leurs pensionnaires. Ce qui portera à onze le nombre d’institutions qu’accompagne la Fondation MTN dans le cadre de son programme d’accès pour tous à une éducation de qualité cette année. Pour avoir un meilleur impact, la Fondation MTN a revu son approche :  réduire le nombre de bénéficiaires et d’accroître l’enveloppe allouée au soutien de chaque enfant.

Cette nouvelle approche a permis la prise en charge de 3,048 enfants au cours de l’année scolaire passée, avec un taux de réussite global de plus de 70%. L’excellence des résultats de trois de ces structures d’accueil est à relever : “Orphelinat Manodacha” dans la région de l’Ouest, le Centre d’Accueil des Enfants en Detresse de Marie Claude Nlate dans la région du Sud, et “Garden for Education and Healing Orphanage” dans le Nord-Ouest ont respectivement eu des taux de réussite de 100%, 96% and 92%.

Des résultats qui confortent la Fondation MTN dans ce choix tourné vers l’excellence. Et pour faire encore mieux, les Amis de la Fondation MTN vont davantage s’impliquer dans le quotidien de ces enfants à travers des dons et des cours de supports.

A titre de rappel, depuis le lancement en 2014 de la caravane #Back2Skoul, la Fondation MTN a déjà soutenu plus de 15,000 enfants vulnérables à travers les 10 régions du pays. La prise en charge du cycle primaire de 2,100 enfants dans le département du Logone & Chari dans la région de l’Extrême-Nord depuis 2012 est un bel exemple de cette approche orientée vers l’éducation de qualité et l’excellence au niveau des résultats.